Dear world,

Let me tell you a story.
When I was ten, it was the perfect trick to play during hide and seek. Till date no one has any idea why I could never be found.
When I was fifteen, it became my wingman, helping me sneak into girls rooms and understand the unexplicable creatures.
When I was eighteen, it made me survive those horrible curfews at hostel.
But it was when I started studying calcite in my chemistry class, that it became the boon of my very existance. The driving force.
They started calling me insane, but I knew if I worked hard enough, I’d know from where it emerged. I could explain it and recreate it.
And so I began my work, joining two crystals of calcite in such a way that it would be able to refract light around an object present between the crystals.You see, calcite is an optically anisotropic material since its refractive index depends upon the polarization and direction of propogation of light. Because of multiple refractions, From outside the system the object is not visible for at least 3 orders of magnitude larger than the wavelength of light in all three dimensions, I assure you.
It has taken me a very long time to reach the exact calculations and configuration of each and every piece in my project, I have been waiting for the day I finally get to disclose that I have found Harry Potter’s Invisibility Cloak.
But you, dear muggles, will never know. You have called me the demented scientist, but I have seen through your facade.
You will use science to propagate your wars, to fulfill your selfish needs and I don’t want to live to see that day. For this would replace all your drones, all your spy systems.
No place would be safe. The people rich enough would intrude on any sense of privacy the others have left.
Robbers and theives would spread like a disease.
You’d literally trip ‘over nothing’.
I think about the uses I put to my toy and I realize no productive use was ever given to it.
There’s a reason why there exists only one Invisibility Cloak even in the Wizarding World.
So I shall take this secret with me to my grave.

Yours,
Loony man who shouts Eureka for no reason.

One thought on “Letters from the man who can’t be seen! – Tavleen Singh

  1. Nice article Tavleen…u have a unique way of writing…little mystique in it…little intriguing…stylish..u get 9.5/10 from me

    Like

Leave a comment